Skip to main content  



City of London
Guildhall, PO Box 270
London EC2P 2EJ
020 7606 3030
Contact us

The City of London

The City of London is also known as the Square Mile, the financial district and historic centre of London.

It is one of the 33 areas with local authority responsibilities into which London is divided. Administratively, London is divided into 32 boroughs and the City of London. Local authority services are provided by the City of London Corporation.

The residential population of this small area is approximately 8,000 people. However, over 400,000 people commute into the City every day for work and over 10 million visit as tourists every year.

The City of London Corporation

We have a role and wide remit that goes beyond that of an ordinary local authority with three main aims

​We are located at Guildhall but also have offices at Mansion House, Walbrook Wharf and outside the Square Mile in relation to our green spaces and other facilities.

City of London boundaries map

Find the City of London on Google maps

Contact us

If you need to get in touch, you can call or email, see details at the top of the page. We are responsible for providing services for residents (and City businesses) in the Square Mile, but not those of other boroughs.

If you are unsure which borough you need to contact, find your local council will help you find the website for your local authority.

If you are looking for information about issues which include noise, recycling and bulky waste removal, council tax, trading standards and school admissions, your local authority will be able to help you.

Services covering the whole Greater London area